WAPT Community and WAPT Enterprise

WAPT is designed to help IT system administrators manage the lifecycle of their installed base of Windows applications.

With WAPT Enterprise, you benefit automatically from the base functions included in WAPT to help you deploy, upgrade and remove software and configurations on your Windows devices, from a central console.

WAPT is an “opencore” model and the Enterprise version is based on the Community version with the following features designed to answer the needs of large and medium organisations:

  • Active Directory authentication of WAPT package developers, package deployers, self-service users and for the initial registering of the WAPT agents with the WAPT Server. In addition, the display of WAPT equiped devices in the WAPT console follow the same structure as the hierarchical structure of the Organization’s Active Directory OU;
  • role separation between package developers and package deployers. This way, central IT teams may build the software packages because they know the Organization’s security guidelines, and local IT teams may deploy the WAPT packages because they know the needs of their users. Such a separation is implemented using differenciated sets of keys (i.e. Code Signing SSL certificates for package developers and Simple SSL certificates for package deployers);
  • simplified management of remote sites. Using your own means or appliances sold and configured by Tranquil IT, your WAPT equiped devices on your remote sites download their updates from a repository that is hosted locally, leaving the bandwdith available for business and productive uses;
  • simplified management of multiple repositories. This functionality allows to implement validation workflows and to manage multiple repositories such as a “preprod” repository to test newly created WAPT packages on a sample of devices and a “prod” repository onto which tested and validated WAPT packages are uploaded for general use;
  • advanced reposting for corporate teams. This reporting completes the operational reporting already available in the WAPT console; the reports are designed to help WAPT operators demonstrate their efficacy with WAPT for insuring a greater level of security and conformity for their network, system and applications.

The Enterprise version of WAPT is particularly advisable for Organizations:

  • that manage large installed bases of devices (generally above 300 units);
  • that are spread geographically with many subsidiaries or production sites;
  • that require a strong traceability of actions performed on their installed base of devices for reasons of audit or security;

Description of services available with the WAPT Enterprise contract

Access to future improvements in WAPT Enterprise

By subscribing to a WAPT Enterprise contract and by maintaining your subscription valid, you benefit from the future improvements brought into the core of WAPT and you benefit automatically from all future improvement of the WAPT Enterprise version.

A lapsing of your subscription will automatically switch your WAPT instance back to its corresponding Community version; advanced functions only available in the Enterprise version will no longer be accessible.

Unlimited telephone support for your daily usage of WAPT

Tranquil IT, the creator of WAPT, allows you a priviledge access to its core team of WAPT experts and developers.

We give you access to a dedicated telephone hot-line with a direct answer to satisfy your needs for support.

We are committed to providing you with reliable and pertinent answers on the subscribed perimeter, quickly.

By subscribing or renewing your WAPT Enterprise contract, you will receive a notification indicating the practicalities to follow to access our support.

Attention

The unlimited support concerns only the support on the use of the WAPT Enterprise software; additional support for adapting, personalizing, debugging or creating WAPT packages may be obtained with prepaid support tickets.

Up to three individuals in your organisation may communicate with our direct support.

Price and preferential access to WAPT training

You may choose to train your IT team on any particularity of WAPT.

WAPT Enterprise subscribers benefit from a priviledged access to Tranquil IT’s training advisers and a 50% discount on standard training prices.

Why does Tranquil IT display a 300 device limit for WAPT Community on her commercial documentation ?

Tranquil IT displays a 300 device limit on her commercial documentation for the WAPT Community version.

Note

There is no technical restriction to using the Community version, it is available as free software.

Tranquil IT’s philosophy regarding free software is to give back a little of what we took, so it is important to us to keep our original promise to give systems administrators a mean to deploy, maintain up-to-date and remove software and configurations on their installed base of Windows devices.

What you will find in the WAPT Enterprise version are features that are designed to help administer large installed bases and we meet people in that situation, daily.

As a general rule, we have observed that advanced management needs start to be felt when the number of devices goes over 300-400 units.

WAPT Community et WAPT Enterprise

WAPT est conçu pour aider les administrateurs de systèmes informatiques à gérer le cycle de vie de leur base installée d’applications Windows.

Avec WAPT Enterprise, vous bénéficiez des fonctions de base disponibles dans WAPT pour déployer, mettre à jour et supprimer des logiciels et des configurations sur vos périphériques Windows à partir d’une console centralisée et simple à utiliser.

WAPT est un modèle « opencore » et la version Enterprise est basée sur la version Community de WAPT avec les améliorations suivantes conçues pour répondre aux besoins des moyennes et grandes organisations :

  • Authentification Active Directory des développeurs de paquets WAPT, des déployeurs de paquets, des utilisateurs en libre-service et pour l’enregistrement initial des périphériques sur le serveur WAPT. De plus, l’affichage des périphériques dans la console de gestion WAPT suit la structure hiérarchique de vos unités organisationnelles Active Directory ;
  • Séparation des rôles entre les développeurs de paquets et les déployeurs de paquets. De cette façon, les paquets WAPT peuvent être conçus par les équipes informatiques de l’entreprise pour suivre les directives de sécurité de l’entreprise et ils sont ensuite déployés par les équipes informatiques locales qui connaissent mieux les besoins de leurs utilisateurs. Une telle ségrégation est mise en œuvre au moyen de jeux de clés différenciés (c’est-à-dire des certificats SSL individuels à signature de code pour les développeurs de paquets et des certificats SSL standards pour les déployeurs de paquets) ;
  • gestion simplifiée des sites distants. En utilisant vos propres périphériques ou appliances dédiés fournis par Tranquil IT, les périphériques de vos sites distants téléchargent leurs mises à jour à partir d’un dépôt hébergé localement, laissant ainsi la bande passante disponible pour les usages professionnels et productifs ;
  • gestion simplifiée de plusieurs dépôts. Cette fonctionnalité permet d’implémenter des workflows de validation et de gérer facilement plusieurs dépôts tels un dépôt « preprod » pour tester les paquets WAPT nouvellement développés sur un échantillon de terminaux et un dépôt « prod » sur lequel les paquets WAPT validés sont chargés pour une utilisation générale ;
  • reporting avancé pour les équipes de direction. Ces rapports complètent les rapports opérationnels déjà disponibles dans la console de gestion ; ils sont conçus pour aider les développeurs et les exploitants de WAPT à démontrer leur efficacité grâce à leur usage de WAPT en éliminant la complexité et en sécurisant correctement leur parc de périphériques et d’applications ;

La version Enterprise de WAPT est particulièrement recommandable pour les Organisations :

  • exploitant de vastes parcs (généralement au dessus de 300 machines) ;
  • éclatées géographiquement avec de multiples agences ou sites de production ;
  • nécessitant une traçabilité forte des actions réalisées sur le parc pour des raisons d’audit et de sécurité ;

Description des services disponibles dans le cadre du contrat WAPT Enterprise

Accès aux améliorations futures dans WAPT Enterprise

En souscrivant à WAPT Enterprise et en maintenant votre abonnement valide, vous bénéficierez bien entendu des futures améliorations apportées au coeur de WAPT et vous accéderez automatiquement aux futures extensions de la version Enterprise.

L’interruption de votre abonnement vous basculera automatiquement dans la version Community et les fonctions avancées de la version Enterprise ne seront plus accessibles dans votre installation de WAPT.

Assistance téléphonique illimitée sur votre utilisation quotidienne de WAPT

Tranquil IT, le créateur de WAPT, vous accorde un accès privilégié à son équipe centrale de développeurs et d’experts WAPT.

Nous mettons à votre disposition une hot-line téléphonique dédiée avec une réponse en direct pour satisfaire vos besoins de support.

Nous nous engageons à vous fournir des réponses fiables et pertinentes sur le périmètre souscrit, rapidement.

En souscrivant ou en renouvelant votre contrat WAPT Enterprise, vous recevrez une notification indiquant les modalités à suivre pour accéder à notre support.

Attention

L’assistance illimitée concerne uniquement le support sur le logiciel WAPT ; l’assistance pour l’adaptation, la personnalisation, la création de paquets WAPT peut être souscrite en plus sous forme de tickets d’assistance prépayés.

Jusqu’à trois personnes désignées dans votre organisation peuvent être inscrites pour communiquer avec notre support direct.

Prix et accès préférentiels à la formation WAPT

Vous pouvez choisir de former votre équipe informatique sur n’importe quel aspect de WAPT.

Les abonnés Entreprise bénéficient d’un accès privilégié aux conseillers en formation de Tranquil IT et d’une remise de 50 % par rapport aux tarifs standard de formation.

Pourquoi Tranquil IT affiche une limite à 300 postes pour WAPT Community dans ses brochures commerciales ?

Tranquil IT affiche une limite à 300 postes sur ses brochures commerciales pour la version Community de WAPT.

Note

Il n’y a aucune restriction technique quant à l’usage de la version Community, elle est librement disponible.

Chez Tranquil IT, nous voulons rendre au logiciel libre un peu de ce que nous lui avons pris et donc nous tenons à respecter notre promesse de laisser en libre un mécanisme pour aider les administrateurs système à déployer, mettre à jour et supprimer des logiciels et des configurations sur un parc Windows.

Ce que vous trouverez dans la version Enterprise, ce sont des choses destinées à faciliter l’exploitation de grands parcs et nous rencontrons de nombreuses personnes qui sont dans ce cas d’usage.

En règle générale, nous observons que les besoins avancés de gestion arrivent quand le parc dépasse 300-400 machines.